Monday, September 22, 2014

South River Teacher Wins Award

From the South River Source:
Carlo Echiverri, an Advanced Placement Environmental Science teacher at South River High School, has been named the winner of the 2014 Jan Hollmann Environmental Education Award.
The award is named for the late Jan Hollmann, an environmental activist who created the first land trust in Maryland, now known as the Scenic Rivers Land Trust. Hollmann was also the catalyst for the passing of the Maryland Critical Area Act of 1984, which firmly outlines the responsibilities of the state and local jurisdictions regarding the impact of land development on natural habitats and aquatic resources.
Echiverri’s students have consistently won awards for their work, including a first place finish in the Environmental Science category at the Intel International Science Fair earlier this year. He has been teaching in Anne Arundel County Public Schools for eight years, all of which have been at South River.
Past recipients of the award include former Superintendent of Schools Kevin M. Maxwell (2012), Arlington Echo Outdoor Education Center teacher Suzanne Kilby Etgen (2011), and former state Senator Gerald Winegrad (1995).
Echiverri will receive the award at a ceremony scheduled for 6:30 p.m. on September 18, 2014, at Arlington Echo, located at 975 Indian Landing Road in Millersville.

No comments:

Post a Comment